Looking to upgrade

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Looking to upgrade

Postby Krisqo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:31 am

Okay, I've had this computer for a little while now and it worked for me up to this point. However, I'm looking to improve my performance a little more so I can edit and play games (like Microsoft Flight Sim X) a little better. Since I am such a noob at computer components, I was wondering if I could get a little help.

My current setup is as follows:

.....
Processor: 2x Intel Pentium D CPU 2.8GHz

RAM: 2GB (4x 512MB) *supports up to 4GB total

nVidia GeForce 6800 Graphics Card

375watt Power Supply

410GB HDD Space (1x 250GB, 1x 160Gb)

400 GB Seagate USB External HDD

Windows XP Media Center 2002 OS (Suggest Vista and die :evil: )
.......

And ideas on what I can improve if any. I don't have the funds to buy a whole new rig. :?
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Kariudo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:40 am

I'd suggest swapping out your cpu and graphics card (which may mean that you'll end up getting a new psu to power that new graphics card)

to upgrade your cpu you'll need to know what socket your motherboard takes.
cpu-z will tell you if you don't know

next, you need to know if your graphics card uses pci, agp or pci-e interface
the price of GeForce 7600's has come down a bit I think. I'm not exactly sure what FSX needs to run (and I have to go to class)...so I don't know if you'll need anything more.

I'll come back here once I'm done with class
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Kariudo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 am

did some searching and found this list of recommended settings

if that helps, then you might not need to get a new graphics card (or proc).

if you built your computer, look up information on the motherboard to find out what procs you can use
if you got it pre-built then you may have to call tech support
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Krisqo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:10 pm

Given what I have (Intel 945P chipset)... it looks like I can only upgrade my graphics card unless I want to buy a whole new motherboard. And I was looking at the 7300 GS at Best Buy a few days ago. But I think I would need to up my power just to be safe...

Great thing for birthdays being one week away.

Thanks Kairudo.
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby CodeZTM » Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:22 pm

Krisqo wrote:Given what I have (Intel 945P chipset)... it looks like I can only upgrade my graphics card unless I want to buy a whole new motherboard. And I was looking at the 7300 GS at Best Buy a few days ago. But I think I would need to up my power just to be safe...

Great thing for birthdays being one week away.

Thanks Kairudo.


Intersting. My birthday is a week away, and I'm getting a new system too. ^_^
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Postby Kariudo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:16 pm

After taking a quick look at the best buy site, you may want to look at this card

you probably wouldn't need a new psu for this card either

just because I had time to look, other mobos that support pentium D and core 2 duo
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Krisqo » Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:32 am

Kariudo wrote:After taking a quick look at the best buy site, you may want to look at this card

you probably wouldn't need a new psu for this card either

just because I had time to look, other mobos that support pentium D and core 2 duo


I wish I had time to look around like this :sweat:

But I was eyeing up a card like that at BB again two nights ago.

I'll also look into the mobo too. I see one that has my chip set and can support more than just Pentium D (Damn Dell *shakes angry fist*)

Thanks again Kairudo. I'm such a loss noob when it comes to computer components.
Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)


Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest