Will my system edit videos well?

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Will my system edit videos well?

Postby Toshiyan » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:13 am

Hi, I just bought a new computer with my friends help. I really don't know anything about computers, especially what makes them work.

The list I will provide is from my receipt that my friend printed out for me.
____________________________________________________________________

EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology)
320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor

Antec PERFORMANCE TX TX1050B Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply

Sony NEC Optiarc Black 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model
DDU1615/B2s

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual
Kit Desktop Memory

MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
___________________________________________________________________

I told him that I wanted to be able to play crysis when ever it comes out :P and edit videos.

He told me that a quad core would be best but for the amount of money I had I would be getting the slowest one out there. He mentioned it might have been better to get a faster dual core but we went with the quad. So will the slowest quad core do well for editing? Or would a faster dual core have been better?

Though he did say it should play Crysis quite well since Crysis uses all core, which from that I guess other games don't?

Also would Adobe's premiere cs3 work well on this?

Help very much appreciated.
Image
User avatar
Toshiyan
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2007

Postby WC Annihilus » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:29 am

That "slow" quad-core is still pretty damn fast. You'll be just fine. Another option is overclocking, but considering your experience you probably don't want to do that, unless you're willing to take the time to learn.
User avatar
WC Annihilus
 
Joined: 17 Jan 2007

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:35 am

The system won't be doing the editing, you will, so of all the specs you listed you'll still be the limiting factor on whether or not it will edit well.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby Toshiyan » Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:09 am

:P of course.

Guess editing was the wrong word to use, thought it was a broad/layman's enough term though to get across :P.

Hmm from what I know then, how will it preform under the stress of rendering videos, and how will it handle programs that I will need to use to edit them in an typical situation.

Taking into account that it will also depend on how I use the program that will either make it bog down or speed up, and what type of program I use. Though as mentioned I plan on using Premiere from Adobe's CS3 line.

So I guess I'd like to know if this would be a computer that I could consider buying Premiere for or just forget about attempting to edit videos. While I was going for a computer that could run games, from what I know a gaming computer doesn't really make a great computer for editing videos in itself. So this is why I've brought this topic up :). How I use the program is a different story in my opinion, that's why I ask about how the hardware will handle and not my actual knowledge of how to use it. That will come later XD.
User avatar
Toshiyan
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2007

Postby Willen » Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:12 am

The only weakness I see is that the hard drive is on the small side, considering 1TB drives are available today. Other than that, your system is better than what most other people that visit this site (and edit AMVs) have at the moment.
Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image
User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Status: Melancholy

Postby NeoQuixotic » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:57 am

Looks great to me. Just make sure you don't break anything when building it and get the latest drivers and bios; basically don't use the CD that comes with the hardware. As far as Crysis goes, we'll know more in a month or two when benchmarks are available; assuming the game doesn't get delayed even further. But it probably will play it just fine. Have fun ^_^!
Insert clever text/image here.
User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
 
Joined: 01 May 2001
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Status: I haz job!

Postby Toshiyan » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:40 pm

Well I didn't build it myself, my friend did, though he was very worried when he stuck a huge fan on the motherboard, I think that's what it is. I believe the motherboard is the huge chip that everything goes on XD. He thought he cracked at first while snapping it on >_<.

So I guess the next time we build a computer put the fan on before you stick it in the computer?

Oh for a bios update I didn't a google search on what it was and I guess i was right the that large chip is the motherboard :P. But it said to go to the manufacturer's site and download a bios update. Though it did mention that people with little knowledge of how to do it should do it.

I did go to MSI's site though and looked for my motherboard.

http://www.msicomputer.com/support/bios_result.asp

Went to download center and came to this. I can't seem to find my model though.

Does anyone else? Also what would a update do? better performance?

help appreciated.
User avatar
Toshiyan
 
Joined: 10 Aug 2007

Postby Up In Flamez » Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:59 am

Hmm, i think you should get a better power supply. A case that comes with a 500w power supply? I don't think that is enough for a quad core and a 8800 GTS. Go at leas 650
Up In Flamez
 
Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles

Postby Keeper of Hellfire » Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:27 am

I'm not sure if a Quad-Core is a good choice. It depends much on your editing suite. Many can take advantage of 2 cores, but not of 4. If that's the case, a dual core on the same speed would be faster. And many games can't even take advantage of two cores.

And regarding the power supply - 500W will be enough. The only thing that you must ensure is that the several voltages can supply the needed current.
User avatar
Keeper of Hellfire
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Location: Germany

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:13 am

Adobe's CS3 bundle was supposed to have support for more than 2 cores as was Pinnacle's new suite - before that point the only mainstream software that improved performance with 4 cores over 2 was WinRAR.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby CrackTheSky » Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:29 am

Willen wrote:The only weakness I see is that the hard drive is on the small side, considering 1TB drives are available today. Other than that, your system is better than what most other people that visit this site (and edit AMVs) have at the moment.

For editing, 320 GB is way more than enough space.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Probably not editing.

Postby NeoQuixotic » Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:15 am

Keeper of Hellfire wrote:I'm not sure if a Quad-Core is a good choice. It depends much on your editing suite. Many can take advantage of 2 cores, but not of 4. If that's the case, a dual core on the same speed would be faster. And many games can't even take advantage of two cores.

Sony Vegas takes advantage of quad core CPUs and newer games are being optimized for multi core CPUs. Valve's new updated Steam engine uses quads, UT3 engine uses quads, and Crysis will be best on a quad core and 64-bit. And let's not forget Supreme Commander that can currently use quad core CPUs.

The only reason to stick with a dual core CPU is if you know you run non multi-threaded applications or are trying to save money. With the Q6600 under $300 and with applications moving to multi-threading, it is a smart decision to future proof yourself by getting a quad core. And a quad core is great if you do major multitasking. Most people forget they can assign applications to each core if necessary. Think about it, the E6600 is a dual core @ 2.4Ghz for ~$230 and the Q6600 is basically two E6600s for only $70 more! Remember, this CPU was $800+ at the beginning of this year! And of course the new G0 revision of the Q6600 is great for overclocking.

Quad core or bust I say :D!
Insert clever text/image here.
User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
 
Joined: 01 May 2001
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Status: I haz job!

Postby Willen » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:21 am

CrackTheSky wrote:
Willen wrote:The only weakness I see is that the hard drive is on the small side, considering 1TB drives are available today. Other than that, your system is better than what most other people that visit this site (and edit AMVs) have at the moment.

For editing, 320 GB is way more than enough space.

Not for the way I edit. Which is working on multiple projects and using multiple anime. :( I don't want to delete the VOB files yet, so all the source footage for one current (stalled) project including the clips I create for the video is at 150+ GB. And I still need more footage. Plus, I work slow....

Add to that music files, AMVs, and other videos, if I had a 320 GB HDD it would be filled by now. But then again, I really should backup most of my video files on DVDs and only keep on my HDD the ones I really re-watch.

Also, the 500W power supply is fine for a single video card system. Yes, even a 8800GTS especially since it's a 320MB version. The quad core CPU shouldn't be an issue either. Like Keeper of Hellfire stated, as long as it can supply the proper current for the correct voltages, it should be fine.
Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image
User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Status: Melancholy

Postby Keeper of Hellfire » Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:51 pm

I didn't read your post to the end. :oops: Adobe CS3 can take advantage of 4 cores, yes a quad core is the way to go.

One further recommendation - for editing it is better to have at least 2 hard drives - one for the system and programs and one for the sources. And it will speed up rendering if you render to a different drive than your source drive. I don't know how many and how complex effects you use - if you don't use many effects the hard drive will be the bottleneck for rendering, not the CPU.
User avatar
Keeper of Hellfire
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Location: Germany


Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest