Motherboard with 2 ethernet ports

This forum is for help with and discussion about your computer hardware.
User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Motherboard with 2 ethernet ports

Postby Orwell » Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:34 pm

If I hook up a second computer through the second ethernet port on my main computer, will it degrade performance any? The second port is directly on the mobo.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:21 pm

What exactly are you trying to accomplish? Direct transfer between 2 computers? Are you trying to use the first system in the chain as a switch so the 2nd one has internet?

Also, define performance. System performance? Internet speed?

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:27 pm

Trying to hook up a second computer so that I can transfer files, and also use it as a switch. As far as performance goes, anything. Computer, internet, anything it might effect.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:37 pm

I'd honestly reccomend a router over this method, but if you plan to go ahead with it you may experience a speed decrease in the interenet on the 2nd computer and a preformance hit on the first one (which won't really be noticible unless it's something that's really outdated to begin with).

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:49 pm

BasharOfTheAges wrote:I'd honestly reccomend a router over this method, but if you plan to go ahead with it you may experience a speed decrease in the interenet on the 2nd computer and a preformance hit on the first one (which won't really be noticible unless it's something that's really outdated to begin with).


Hmm, that'd require prohibitive trips to the store and a larger than I'd like financial incursion. Will the internet speed on it take a hit if I set up a router turned switch?
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:52 pm

You can get some cheep routers nowdays... look around a bit. I'm not sure what you'll find locally, but newegg definately has decent prices.

And if you have all the stuff to do what you had planned to begin with now then try it out and see how it works for you. Run a bnadwidth test on both systems and see if there's any difference.

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:00 pm

BasharOfTheAges wrote:You can get some cheep routers nowdays... look around a bit. I'm not sure what you'll find locally, but newegg definately has decent prices.

And if you have all the stuff to do what you had planned to begin with now then try it out and see how it works for you. Run a bnadwidth test on both systems and see if there's any difference.


I suppose I shall test it out, and it's not the router that's the problem, its the fact that I'd need at least a 50 foot cable, and wireless isn't an option since even in that distance, I can't get a remotely decent connection. Worse than dial up.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:16 pm


User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:27 pm

You make a strong arguement. Now raise my creditcard limit, and we're all set.

Srsly, what can you buy on a $500 dollar limit. Nothing altogether in one month.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
lister007
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:50 pm
Location: Great Britain, um the country with the best flag;)
Org Profile

Postby lister007 » Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:14 pm

Basically you need to set up a network and I agree with the router idea, as this is the method I use my self, however, if it is just file transfer and interaction between two or more comps setting up a network via blue tooth is quicker and cheaper. If you were going to hard wire them anyway then distance obviously isn't a issue. Its worth having a look into as you can get blue tooth dongles for almost nothing!
Spatchcock..........A dressed and split chicken for roasting or grilling on a spit.
Bring it
Image
Berserk or crazy...??? (image shack sucks will have a banner for this too when it doesn't!)

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:21 pm

lister007 wrote:Basically you need to set up a network and I agree with the router idea, as this is the method I use my self, however, if it is just file transfer and interaction between two or more comps setting up a network via blue tooth is quicker and cheaper. If you were going to hard wire them anyway then distance obviously isn't a issue. Its worth having a look into as you can get blue tooth dongles for almost nothing!


Wireless technology just does not work in this house. Nope. Not a bit. Can't get a radio signal, blue tooth fails more often than it work, even a computer not more than 5 feet from a wireless router recieves an abysmal signal, wireless phones are so filled with static when you want to call somebody and actually converse with them, you plug the wired one in. The only, mostly, reliably functioning wireless technology is a tv remote.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
Joined: Tue May 01, 2001 7:30 pm
Status: I haz job!
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby NeoQuixotic » Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:22 pm

Orwell wrote: The only, mostly, reliably functioning wireless technology is a tv remote.

Wait, remotes are generally infrared, not wireless.
Insert clever text/image here.

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:26 pm

anubisx00 wrote:
Orwell wrote: The only, mostly, reliably functioning wireless technology is a tv remote.

Wait, remotes are generally infrared, not wireless.


Well, there you go, further proof. I just meant anything that functions without a plug in cord of some sort.
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:10 pm

anubisx00 wrote:
Orwell wrote: The only, mostly, reliably functioning wireless technology is a tv remote.

Wait, remotes are generally infrared, not wireless.


infrared is wireless :P

Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

User avatar
Joe88
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Joe88 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:30 am

well 802.11 wi-fi >.>


Return to “Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest