Necessary wattage/volts?

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.
User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Necessary wattage/volts?

Postby Orwell » Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:57 am

I was recently talking to someone about adding a couple 500 gb hdd's to a old computer of mine that has a 230V power supply, but they kept going on about how you really should have about 450-600 volts to run those kind of drives. Only 2 of them. Plus a 320 IDE. Is there any truth to this? I haven't installed or done much with the new discs yet, but it turned on just fine real quick. Should I consider upgrading it?
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
WC Annihilus
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:49 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby WC Annihilus » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:01 am

450-600V?!?!?!?! Methinks all your stuff would die =O Heh, I believe you mean watts. Anyways, there is absolutely no need for a 450-600W PSU to power that. You say it's an old computer? Should be fine on a 230W PSU. What make is the PSU? Rig specs?

It's actually amazing what can run on a quality 500W PSU...

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Pwolf » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:07 am

Should be fine with just a 400-450w PSU. So long as you don't have a bunch of other peripherals and a high end video card.


Pwolf
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

TaranT
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 11:20 pm
Org Profile

Postby TaranT » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:30 am

Check the spec sheets; e.g. this WD 500GB drive is rated for 11 watts max. Even two should not be a problem unless your system is already marginal. Heat flow is another problem to look at.

User avatar
Joe88
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 11:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Joe88 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 9:22 pm

yea HD hardly pull nothing
its the vid cards that draw most of the power

User avatar
Orwell
godx, Son of godix
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Frying Pan. Destination: Fire.
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Orwell » Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:43 am

Is there a way to test if I'm over-drawing on the power supply?
Latest
[Kristyrat]: Vote for Orwell
[Kristyrat]: because train conducters are dicks.
Otohiko: whereas Germans are like "god we are all so horrible, we're going to die a pointless death now."

User avatar
Keeper of Hellfire
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:13 am
Location: Germany
Org Profile

Postby Keeper of Hellfire » Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:39 pm

You'll know it if your PC crashes sporadicly.

Of course, you can measure it. Devices which you can plug into the socket aren't expensive. Since the efficiency of a PSU is under 100%, you are safe as long as the power consumption doesn't exceed the specs of the PSU.


Return to “Video Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest