Capture Card?

Gepetto
Mr. Poopy Pants
Org Profile

Capture Card?

Post by Gepetto » Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:03 pm

Hi. I'm looking to purchase a capture card for handling analog footage (like VHS) and digital footage (like Gamecube cutscenes). Since I have no idea what to look for in a capture card, and since a search on online stores gave me a price range from RS$200,00 to RS$1300,00 I thought it would be safer to ask here: How far is the extra dollar worth it and what features do I really need/want?
And God spoke unto the Chicken, and He said: "Thou shalt crosseth the road", and the Chicken did cross the road, and there was much rejoicing.
My DeviantART profile

Joe88
Org Profile

Post by Joe88 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:58 pm

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... x=0&Go.y=0

theres a ton for about $50 that perform quite well but the quality is a little lacking

im not an expert on capturing cards so I cant give you much help

Keeper of Hellfire
Org Profile

Re: Capture Card?

Post by Keeper of Hellfire » Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:53 am

Gepetto wrote:Hi. I'm looking to purchase a capture card for handling analog footage (like VHS) and digital footage (like Gamecube cutscenes).
Actually capturing from a game cube is analogue capture too since the video output is analogue.

You should make sure that the capture device has not only composite video input, but also S-Video (or depending on your game cube version RGB) input. Avoid these USB capture devices, they are known for audio/video desynch. And check what formats it can capture.

yokoexe
Org Profile

Post by yokoexe » Sun Oct 22, 2006 6:03 pm

I use the ATI USB 2.0 TV Wonder and it works well. It was about $130 (CND).

Gepetto
Mr. Poopy Pants
Org Profile

Post by Gepetto » Sun Oct 22, 2006 6:50 pm

Thank you all. I wrote that all down, and now I'm price-checking.

Cheers!

--Gepetto
And God spoke unto the Chicken, and He said: "Thou shalt crosseth the road", and the Chicken did cross the road, and there was much rejoicing.