Shopping for a new Computer, what should I look for?

This forum is for help with and discussion about your computer hardware.
User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby klinky » Mon Nov 18, 2002 5:32 pm

Everytime klinky sees a 2Ghz+ machine with a MX or onboard card he cries :... O

But yes, your point is taken, but since the OEMs do jack prices up. If you do purchase a "MX" card from them, the price you pay for it is probably only %25 less then the better card if purchase separately.

Still! This is a debate about who to purchase from, not Klinky's ranting on why you should build a computer, not purchase one.


~klinky

User avatar
Sub0
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 4:32 pm
Location: a small cabin on the edge of sanity
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Sub0 » Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:49 pm

badow bitch!
Athie XP 2ghz+
Radeon 7500 right now!! ;-p

(btw the Radeon 7500 is worse than the only viable MX, MX 460) ;-p

User avatar
NicholasDWolfwood
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, US
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby NicholasDWolfwood » Tue Nov 19, 2002 6:50 pm

How much was the Radeon 9000, ErMaC? I needs a new video card, and my dad said he isn't playing 200 bucks or more for a 64MB GF4 Ti4200. Also, does the Radeon have dualmontior support? (I really should just check out the damned ATI site.)

BTW, in case you're wondering why I need a new video card is because it's 3 years old, and Creative Labs doesn't even support it anymore except for drivers that work with any 3D Blaster Riva TNT card.
Image

User avatar
ErMaC
The Man who puts the "E" in READFAG
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 4:39 pm
Location: Irvine, CA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby ErMaC » Tue Nov 19, 2002 7:49 pm

I got the Radeon 9000 Pro at Fry's for like $129. It has two monitor outputs - one that can do DVI or VGA and the other that does only VGA. Works fine but if you're running Win2K and not XP be wary cause you won't get independant monitor controls. 98, ME, or XP work fine though as separate display devices (one reason I'm running XP).

You can find it online at Pricewatch for probably even less than that.

User avatar
jonmartensen
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2002 11:50 pm
Location: Gimmickville USA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby jonmartensen » Tue Nov 19, 2002 7:59 pm

Everytime I walk into Fry's my legs get weak and I start to drool. :D That is an awsome store.
Image

User avatar
NicholasDWolfwood
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, US
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby NicholasDWolfwood » Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:05 pm

ErMaC wrote:I got the Radeon 9000 Pro at Fry's for like $129. It has two monitor outputs - one that can do DVI or VGA and the other that does only VGA. Works fine but if you're running Win2K and not XP be wary cause you won't get independant monitor controls. 98, ME, or XP work fine though as separate display devices (one reason I'm running XP).

You can find it online at Pricewatch for probably even less than that.


What do you mean it supports DVI or VGA in one? Do you need a digital/analog conversion thingie for the DVI-I output so you can convert the DVI-I to a standard VGA out? I want to know cos I might ask for it for next Hanukkah/my next birthday, it'd be pretty cool to have two monitors plus it's better for crafting my war up. (Playing Warcraft 3, like you said)
Image

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby klinky » Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:40 pm

Yesh, I believe most of those VGA + DVI/VGA, use a dongle cable into the DVI interface to convert from DVI > VGA.

~klinky

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby klinky » Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:42 pm

userguide:

Image


~klinky

User avatar
ErMaC
The Man who puts the "E" in READFAG
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 4:39 pm
Location: Irvine, CA
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby ErMaC » Wed Nov 20, 2002 2:55 am

Looks just like klinky posted and the adapter is included with the Radeon.

User avatar
Sub0
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 4:32 pm
Location: a small cabin on the edge of sanity
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Sub0 » Wed Nov 20, 2002 3:11 am

my 7500 can do vga + tv output (via svideo or composit) but not dvi + tv for some reason...

User avatar
NicholasDWolfwood
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:11 pm
Location: New Jersey, US
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby NicholasDWolfwood » Wed Nov 20, 2002 12:37 pm

klinky wrote:userguide:

Image


~klinky




Cool, I'm definitly getting the card then. It's been added to my wishlist..
Image

User avatar
str1ngheeser
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 6:10 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby str1ngheeser » Sun Dec 01, 2002 12:01 pm

Yeah, its better to build your own computer. It costs alot less, and you get more bang for your buck. If your going for gaming, even though the Alienware costs more than my house would, go for it.

User avatar
BogoSort
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:10 pm
Location: Right behind you with a knife!
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BogoSort » Mon Dec 02, 2002 2:43 am

klinky wrote:Everytime klinky sees a 2Ghz+ machine with a MX or onboard card he cries :... O


Just cause it's funny to make klinky cry. My brand spanking new P4 2.4Ghz machine with 512MB DDR333 RAM has a GeForce 2 in it.

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby klinky » Mon Dec 02, 2002 2:45 am

BogoSort wrote:
klinky wrote:Everytime klinky sees a 2Ghz+ machine with a MX or onboard card he cries :... O


Just cause it's funny to make klinky cry. My brand spanking new P4 2.4Ghz machine with 512MB DDR333 RAM has a GeForce 2 in it.


So long as it's not onboard :x


I am still using a GF2 in my current rig. I paid $180 for it and damn well will get all I paid for it :p

So said that you can pick the same card up for $40 - $50 now and a Geforce4 w/128MB can be had for $150 :cry:


~klinky

User avatar
BogoSort
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:10 pm
Location: Right behind you with a knife!
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby BogoSort » Mon Dec 02, 2002 2:49 am

klinky wrote:
BogoSort wrote:
klinky wrote:Everytime klinky sees a 2Ghz+ machine with a MX or onboard card he cries :... O


Just cause it's funny to make klinky cry. My brand spanking new P4 2.4Ghz machine with 512MB DDR333 RAM has a GeForce 2 in it.


So long as it's not onboard :x


I am still using a GF2 in my current rig. I paid $180 for it and damn well will get all I paid for it :p

So said that you can pick the same card up for $40 - $50 now and a Geforce4 w/128MB can be had for $150 :cry:


~klinky


Man, someone checks the forums a bit much... I replay and within a minute or so there's a reply. =P

Damn, I knew I should've sprung for the onboard video. This GeForce 2 cost me like $250 2 years ago, and it was a waste on my previous machine, cause it just couldn't handle it. At least now I finally have a machine that can use its full power, and do my taxes at the same time.


Return to “Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests