What do I need to be able to hookup my video camera to my pc

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Postby klinky » Tue Aug 20, 2002 12:32 am

I'd buy a $20 card now and work with what you have, then when you get a DV200, take it, but your $20 card in the box and sell it on ebay to some sap. Probably want to put some sorta pinnacle sticker on it first...


okay, and no I am not actually suggesting you do the ebay thing, but $20 is better then $250.


~klinky
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby trythil » Tue Aug 20, 2002 1:15 am

"Barely"? I beat you by almost three minutes. :P
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 512 character limit.
trythil
is
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

Postby klinky » Tue Aug 20, 2002 3:50 am

You must have hit submit as I hit reply.... :(
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby ssjvegitto » Wed Aug 21, 2002 3:52 pm

I think that my video card has tv out. So what kind of cord/cable do I need to hook my videp camera up to my pc.
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby klinky » Wed Aug 21, 2002 6:03 pm

A FIREWIRE cord/card...... yes we were clear on this one already...


TV out is... >TV OUPUT< as in OUTPUT ONLY.

~klinky
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:53 am

Is the right card?
http://cgi.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl ... 2047430994
And if it is, the cord doesn't look like it will fit in my video camers. I am talking about the small part of the cord. Here's a better pic of a cord.
http://cgi.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl ... 2046558959
And to change the subject has it be announced when operation golden donut will begin. I read through the "new" forum for it and I don't think that I saw a specific date as to when it would start. Thank you everyone that has helped me i know that I asked a lot of questions. :P
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby trythil » Thu Aug 22, 2002 2:22 am



Yes, that's a Firewire card.

And if it is, the cord doesn't look like it will fit in my video camers. I am talking about the small part of the cord. Here's a better pic of a cord.


If that's the case, your video camera doesn't have a Firewire interface...
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 512 character limit.
trythil
is
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

Postby klinky » Thu Aug 22, 2002 2:45 am

Okay after tracking down information on this type of camera it looks like it uses standard "A/V" cables(or as I like to call them RCA cables) :roll: or maybe they're called composite cables.. whatever... it's the three cables with red, white and yellow. 'cept it looks like it probably comes with a mono cable, which would be only white and yellow. Here's a pic:

Image

What it actually looks like you would need is a actual capture card that accepts "composite" input. What I would like to know is why you want to hook up this camcorder to your computer???


~klinky
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:10 pm

I want to hookup that camera to my pc because I have a lot of anime vhs/dvds and I need to get footage for some amv's
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby NicholasDWolfwood » Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:20 pm

Grrr, dumb newbies. A VIDEO CAMERA WILL NOT TAKE DVD MEDIA! IT WILL NOT TAKE VHS MEDIA IF IT DOESNT SAY IT DOES. If the case is that you have anime DVDs, buy a DVD-ROM drive for your PC and rip the DVD. If it's VHS media, buy a TV tuner/capture card, and plug in the "Composite In" into the VCR and the Capture card/tuner card.
User avatar
NicholasDWolfwood
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey, US

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 2:29 pm

Well I was thinking of using the camera to record off my tv.
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby NicholasDWolfwood » Thu Aug 22, 2002 2:35 pm

Well, the quality will most likely suck, and the record it off the TV idea isn't a good one. If I were you, I'd buy a 30 dollar capture/tuner card and a DVD-ROM drive, and rip/capture the footage you need.
User avatar
NicholasDWolfwood
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey, US

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 7:25 pm

I've seen and have footage recorded off TV before and it looks decent/good enough for me. And I really don't want to buy a dvd drive, because I'd only use it for AMVs. If after i get the right capture card and the quality sux i guess that i'll have to get the DVD-rom drive
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 7:29 pm

And composite out, i've never heard of that before. My camera must really suck. It did come with the white and yellow cord. I'll try and search around for one.
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

Postby ssjvegitto » Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:05 pm

I searched online for a composite video card, but as I tried to get info on them their links didn't work. :? So i'll go to circuit city and see what they have. But does anyone know where i can get a composite out video card, and I am also not sure how I am supposed to search for it online.
ssjvegitto
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2002

PreviousNext

Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests