hardware ?

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Postby Sinime » Fri Aug 02, 2002 8:26 pm

If I am working on an AMV I use my stereo and TV and I don’t play computer games, so basically I only use the little speakers for computer sounds and the occasional MP3. They aren’t there for quality. If the sever my web page is on ever gets back up and running I’ll upload a better picture of the setup.
User avatar
Sinime
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

Postby Mechaman » Fri Aug 02, 2002 10:30 pm

Furry: Are those Dell LCDs?
I'm half-considering getting an LCD screen(to further shrink the footprint after the space-saver ViewSonic 17" I've had throughout college), but outside of the price, I'm wondering if the refresh rate is good enough for media work(video, 3D work).
User avatar
Mechaman
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Location: Greater Pacific Northwest

Postby FurryCurry » Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:51 am

Yes those are the Dell 2000 FP's. They seem to go on sale every few months, so if you time your purchase right, you can get them at a substantial discount.

I find the refresh quite satisfactory for video, and even 3d gaming, particularly when connected through the DVI port.
I don't use any modeling apps, but I can tell you that Unreal Tournament looks SWEET at 1600x1200 with high detail settings.

If color accuracy and evenness are very important to you, ie: publishing work, pro-level Photoshop, etc, you might want to look elsewhere.

I find them just fine for my needs though, and for me they effectively eliminate all problems with eyestrain. My now failing Sony GDM-F520 could do no such thing, at 1600x1200x85hz
User avatar
FurryCurry
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2002

Postby Mechaman » Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:42 pm

Of course, telling my dad about it today results in a "Well, our hardware guys say that they can't do the level of resolution that a CRT can.." (?)
I guess I'll have to hit the stores and see if I can feel them out.

Anyways, has anybody had experience with the new Athlon MP processors? I'm interested in going dual-proc, and I'm torn between getting nice fast MPs on a Tyan Tiger, or going with an older dual P3 board.
I'm not really interested in overclocking, either.
User avatar
Mechaman
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Location: Greater Pacific Northwest

Postby jbone » Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:50 pm

Mechaman wrote:Of course, telling my dad about it today results in a "Well, our hardware guys say that they can't do the level of resolution that a CRT can.." (?)


Never take anything the hardware guys say at face value. They may know the correct answers, but they may not have the communication skills to tell you what you want to know - or they may leave out vital information without ever realize they're doing so.

TFTs can't recreate the same level of resolution as CRTs, that's true. CRTs can perform at well over 2000x2000. However, you <I>can</I> find a TFT which will perform well at 1600x1200, it'll just be very expensive.
User avatar
jbone
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2002
Location: DC, USA
Status: Single. (Lllladies.)

Postby Sinime » Sat Aug 03, 2002 5:10 pm

It's a little messy, but...
Image
User avatar
Sinime
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

Postby klinky » Sat Aug 03, 2002 5:17 pm

That looks like what....

Ash edited into the Perfect Blue rape scene or something?


~klinky
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby mexicanjunior » Sat Aug 03, 2002 5:27 pm

klinky wrote:That looks like what....

Ash edited into the Perfect Blue rape scene or something?


~klinky


LOL! That's genius!! ^_^
User avatar
mexicanjunior
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Status: It's a process...

Postby Sinime » Sun Aug 04, 2002 3:01 am

Yes it is ash in the rap scene.... http://users2.ev1.net/~sinime/animevideos/index.htm
User avatar
Sinime
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

Postby FurryCurry » Sun Aug 04, 2002 3:43 am

Mechaman wrote:Of course, telling my dad about it today results in a "Well, our hardware guys say that they can't do the level of resolution that a CRT can.." (?)
I guess I'll have to hit the stores and see if I can feel them out.

Anyways, has anybody had experience with the new Athlon MP processors? I'm interested in going dual-proc, and I'm torn between getting nice fast MPs on a Tyan Tiger, or going with an older dual P3 board.
I'm not really interested in overclocking, either.


Well, the res thing is pretty much bull. The Dell 2000FP has a native 1600x1200 res, and the refresh is irrelevant with DVI, use 60hz if you're going to use the VGA in.
The sony GDM F520 I previously had would do higher resolutions, but 1600x1200 was the highest it would go at 85hz refresh, that's the lowest I can stand for any length of time, therefore, the higher res modes on the sony were useless to me (2048x1536 max, or wtf ever) even at 85hz, the Sony caused eyestrain much earlier than the Dell, so there you have it, for me at least.
BTW, the GDM F520 is considered to be one of the best crt's you can buy. I say meh.

As for the other part of your question, for video editing I'm running a Tyan Tiger MP with two 1900+ MP's. I've built many systems, and let me clearly state that this one was a bitch and a half to get running and stable. I honestly don't know if I'd do it again, given the chance to get my money back and do it over.

I still can't run it with all four RAM banks filled, so I'm running with 768 MB,and a stick sitting in the desk drawer.

It had problems recognizing my CD/DVD drives as DMA Capable, even thought the drives all work fine in other machines.

You have to do screwy stuff just to get normal avi's to play properly:

1) open WMP
2) in task mgr, select the WMP process, set priority to above normal, change cpu affinity to cpu 0 only, minimize task mgr.

That's what you have to do just to play back most mpeg 4 files without skips.

Does it sound fun yet?

Bottom line: skip the dual AMD if you don't want to go through crap like this, or are not an experienced system builder.

Want more input? Have a read at http://forums.2cpu.com/index.php.

Check out all the people going through hell with dual AMD systems...
My Eyes Are The Victim's Eyes.
My Hands Are The Assailant's Hands.
User avatar
FurryCurry
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2002

Postby Mechaman » Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:02 pm

Mrr...

It seems on 2CPU.com, everybody at any time has dual-proc woes of some sort.
MPX has the stability problems you mention. The (affordable)dual-P3-S boards(in addition to Intel's artificial price gouging) are using VIA, which apparently may cause problems for some users.

It seems that it's still a roll of the dice. I may just buy software right now, and wait a few months for things to stabilize/shake up some more. :(
User avatar
Mechaman
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2001
Location: Greater Pacific Northwest

Postby mckeed » Mon Aug 05, 2002 12:56 pm

when i get home i'll post my picture of my computer at home......he he he.
"People can not gain anything without putting forth any effort. That is the absolute Truth" - Dante, Full Metal Alchemist
Image
User avatar
mckeed
 
Joined: 15 May 2001
Location: Troy, NY

Postby klinky » Mon Aug 05, 2002 1:26 pm

Image

That's my computer...

Here's another:

Image


and no that blast of light in the right corner is not my bad digital camera, it's a ghost. :shock:

~klinky
User avatar
klinky
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2001
Location: Cookie College...

Postby mckeed » Mon Aug 05, 2002 8:44 pm

Heres my station
Image
The blue one is my server which keeps all my amv's, and what i use to render my videos and also my dedicated winmx host for grabbing my digisubs of the net. The grey one is my editing station which is connected both monitorts A 4 port KVM alows me control these two as well as setting up others when i need to. The second monitor is the swap monitor for the machines hooked up to the KVM.

The digital jukebox
Image
I use this one to play anything over my 100baseT network. I grab what i need off of the server in my room and display it on the TV. It also serves as my interface for my MP3's to the stereo The second season ramna box set as well as the boogiepop box set is nest to the tv on the right.
"People can not gain anything without putting forth any effort. That is the absolute Truth" - Dante, Full Metal Alchemist
Image
User avatar
mckeed
 
Joined: 15 May 2001
Location: Troy, NY

Argggh!

Postby Shulocc » Tue Aug 06, 2002 6:46 pm

I can't believe this!!!! Check this out!


http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,103649,00.asp
"Hope is the pain we feel that makes us try again"
-----Chico Science
Shulocc
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2002
Location: Alabama

PreviousNext

Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests