Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:18 pm

My main problem is when editing with lossy codecs. I know you're not supposed to do that, but hear me out.

There was a time when I could edit well enough, and I'm not sure what happened (it's not a virus), but now I cannot even play through a rendered timeline in premiere without it lagging like fuck. I have basically employed the 'guess and check' system where I guess at what cuts I should make, export, and watch the export to see if it looks okay. This is pretty shitty.

What's worse is that my computer should be able to handle playing UNRENDERED timelines, so it's doubly ridiculous.
This problem is the worst when editing lossy footage (obviously), but it also occurs when editing lossless footage. So whatever is going on, it's affecting everything (in Premiere).


I'm using Adobe Premiere CS5 (5.03).
These are my specs:
Image

I'd like to know if something is wrong with my settings in premiere, or if I am misunderstood on my hardware specs. Or anything really.
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby halex1316 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:41 pm

Only thing that even looks remotely like it's holding you back is your processor, and even that's pretty good. . . not sure, sorry :(
User avatar
halex1316
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Location: Wyoming

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:46 pm

Do you think there would be a performance gain if I downgraded to CS4 or CS3?

The only problem I envision is that I'm running the x64 Win7 and I'm not sure if the lower versions would support that.
Though to be honest, I'm not even sure Premiere CS5 supports that properly. Or if it even could be an issue.
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:47 am

halex1316 wrote:Only thing that even looks remotely like it's holding you back is your processor, and even that's pretty good. . . not sure, sorry :(
What? An i7 is not what I would call "holding someone back"....that said, if you are going to point out ANYTHING holding his system back then it would be the graphics card which is a crappy Intel graphics. Intel graphics do not work as well with the hardware acceleration features in Adobe software.

SQ wrote:Do you think there would be a performance gain if I downgraded to CS4 or CS3?
You shouldn't need to do that, could you try and list all the changes in the process? What "lossy" codecs are you using? Are you working with HD?
Sites: Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Guides & Scripts: AMV 101 | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:50 am

cs5 allows direct import of mp4. I was using HD mp4s when I first noticed the problem. Now I'm working with xvid encoded AVIs, but they're low resolution and I'm having the same problem.

The only lossless footage I've used on this setup is lagarith avi, and it won't play unrendered. Rendered works ok, until you make a few cuts.
The problem gets worse as more cuts are made on the timeline for all file types. Nesting things seems to help, but not by much.

Now that I think about this, if my footage is 29.97fps, but my workspace is 24 fps, is that a problem?

But, I also have dragged video clips right onto the new comp icon to get the exact same specs, and it still lags.
Just recently, I exported something from After Effects as a lagarith, imported it into Premiere, and as soon as I made 2-3 cuts to it... Bam. Guess and check. =/
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:57 am

Can't edit posts.

You mentioned the graphics card. I don't know much about customizing laptops post-purchase. Is it possible to update my graphics card in a thinkpad? And if so, what should I get?

This would be separate to the other questions, since I was thinking about upgrading anyway, but would like to avoid buying a whole new laptop, since this one is pretty awesome.
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:03 pm

Unfortunately there is no way to upgrade the graphics cards on (most) laptops. As for XviD, BAD! Do not do that to your poor footage :cry:

You may want to try "turning down" or disabling the graphics acceleration features to see if putting more load on your CPU helps. I have had graphics cards that caused issues with graphics acceleration on Adobe products. It's not ideal, but may work...
Sites: Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Guides & Scripts: AMV 101 | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:24 pm

When you say play without rendering, do you mean you're doing playbacks in premiere without rendering your timeline? AFAIK, that never works out well, no matter what your specs are.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:45 pm

l33tmeatwad wrote:You may want to try "turning down" or disabling the graphics acceleration features to see if putting more load on your CPU helps. I have had graphics cards that caused issues with graphics acceleration on Adobe products. It's not ideal, but may work...

Is this in Premiere? If not, how do I do this?

@Bashar
Yes that is what I mean. But it should be able to (and has in the past) be able to play an unrendered lagarith that has no cuts in it.
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:10 pm

SQ wrote:
l33tmeatwad wrote:You may want to try "turning down" or disabling the graphics acceleration features to see if putting more load on your CPU helps. I have had graphics cards that caused issues with graphics acceleration on Adobe products. It's not ideal, but may work...

Is this in Premiere? If not, how do I do this?

@Bashar
Yes that is what I mean. But it should be able to (and has in the past) be able to play an unrendered lagarith that has no cuts in it.

Actually, now that you mention it...I don't think Premiere lets you, because I had a low end computer I couldn't run it on because of the graphics card...and Bashar is right, most stuff will play back choppy without rendering, especially if you are stacking more than 2 lines. In reference to it "working before", I would assume you weren't working with HD footage before, which taxes the system MUCH more than SD footage. Lowering versions will not help you if you are working with HD footage.
Sites: Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Guides & Scripts: AMV 101 | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:41 pm

I'm saying one lagarith file, one video track, no cuts, it won't playback if it's not rendered.

I noticed the problem with HD footage, but I work almost exclusively with SD footage now. And on top of that, even when I have HD footage, my compositions sequences are hilariously small. I'm currently working in 624x352. It is still sputtering, even when rendered. This current sequence is the worst, but it's Xvid so I guess that's expected.

When I used HD mp4s, the comp was at 624x352 and previews set to 1/4 playback resolution.

When I was working with avs files for (SD) mkv (IIRC-- this is going back about 2 years), resolution was 720x480 and it wasn't working perfectly but it was going much smoother than it is now. That project is the last time I remember it NOT sucking, actually.

....

I opened up Premiere and decided to make a few test projects for myself to see what the problem might be (I've never done this before, I just have been kind of dealing with it and a passing thought said I should post here yesterday).

I believe the problem is the amount of files I have imported. Not only this, but whether they need "conforming" or not. Videos with audio need to be conformed. Premiere always conforms them in the background while editing. Not a huge problem if you have one or two files, but my projects lately have been using tons of files (50+) with sound.
SO ONE STEP CLOSER TO SOLVING THE MYSTERY.

This is probably not really a hardware problem with this information. But assuming this is actually the problem.

1.) Is there a way to turn off conforming so it does not happen, or only happens when I tell it to do that specific file?
2.) Is there a piece of hardware I could upgrade that would make conforming go by faster?
3.) If the above is not possible, is there a batch way to strip sound from all my files. (Avs I'm guessing?)
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby l33tmeatwad » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:17 pm

For one, if your composition settings have little to do with how your system can playback the source material If your source is say, 1080p lossless, it doesn't matter if your project setting is 480p, it still have to decode and play that 1080p file unless you render (in which case it plays the rendered preview). Also, if you pull in a full episode then cut it, it's going to give you more problems than if you make subclips (or just pull in clips).
Sites: Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Guides & Scripts: AMV 101 | AviSynth 101 | Anime Upscale
PixelBlended Studios: Website | Facebook | Tumblr | Twitter | YouTube
User avatar
l33tmeatwad
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Status: Trolling

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby SQ » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:23 pm

Can you explain why that is, about subclips?
I'm not doubting you, I'd just like to know.
-SQ™
Changes are good. Wait until you've seen mine.
Latest video - Family (Oct 3, 2013)
User avatar
SQ
Doesn't have a title
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Status: Forever Navy

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:28 pm

It's loading in the entire file. The sub-clip is a set of time stamps... all a subclip is, essentially, is a set of pointers back to the start and stop points within the full file. Unless you render a preview, you are loading the full file THEN doing a series of steps to offset time, downscale, etc. Without rendering previews, you are actually doing more work to downscale and clip inside Premiere too.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Premiere slow, makes it nearly impossible to edit

Postby halex1316 » Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:03 am

LOL you clearly misunderstood. I said "remotely" which clues that it is hardly at all. i7 or not, 2.8GHz isn't that fast nowadays. His graphics chip has nearly 2GB of memory, so it's not that bad at all. And if it didn't help with hardware acceleration, it surely wouldn't make a program slow down given that those features were disabled and it wasn't relying on it.
User avatar
halex1316
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Location: Wyoming

Next

Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests