Frame Rate Question!

Cosmos Studio
Org Profile

Frame Rate Question!

Post by Cosmos Studio » Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:29 pm

Hey,
I'm new to ripping DVD's, but I recently completed a whole DVD rip, I used DVDtoAVI to convert those files to an editible format in Premiere (with less hassle anyways), so now I have a nice playable format with a frame rate of 29.97, which I didn't think would cause a problem. Now, I don't know much about frame rates, but I figured higher meant better quality. Anyways, to my point, when I use these files with a high frame rate in Premiere, it simply doesn't want to work. Very very slowly (to the point W-XP is saying "not responding"), I finally figured out that with a file about 23.9 (whatever ^^ ...) frame rate, it wasn't being slow at all. Now, to my actual question, would it hurt anything to take these files from 29.97 down to 23? And also, could I simply work with files encoded to 23 and then when exporting them out of Premiere (as the amv) and move them back up to 29.97? Any help on this issue would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
~Cosmos

Zarxrax
Org Profile

Post by Zarxrax » Tue Jul 16, 2002 4:19 pm

Read ermacs guide, it explains all about that sort of thing. If thats not enough, check out the video guides over at doom9.org, im sure they will have more than you even want to know.

Cosmos Studio
Org Profile

Post by Cosmos Studio » Tue Jul 16, 2002 5:58 pm

Yep, I've looked around, but I can't find this question's answer exactly, could some one please give me a straight answer?
Thanks,
~Cosmos

Zarxrax
Org Profile

Post by Zarxrax » Tue Jul 16, 2002 8:38 pm

The answer is in the guides. I cant simply answer your question, because to fully answer it, it would take the length of a good guide, and as some are already written, Im not going to write another just for you. I can tell you that everything you think you know about framerate is flat out incorrect, so forget it and read a guide.

jbone
Org Profile