Capturing VHS footage...

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.

Capturing VHS footage...

Postby y2kwizard » Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:08 pm

Hello all. I own a VHS tape of a movie, and I'm trying to get some footage from the tape. However, when I connect my camcorder to the output of my VCR, I get that awful copy protect message. Is there any way around this? I mean, I can always goto blockbuster and rent the DVD and rip that, but that just doesn't feel right......

anyone know?

thanks a lot!
"When I got fat, I decided to grow a beard" -- The Great Andy
"Is it a DARTH visor?" and "It's funny cuz it's pants" -- The Master of on-the-spot Funniness
"You're too young for your age" and "I'm sorry for apologizing so much" -- The Master of on-the-spot Randomness
User avatar
y2kwizard
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2002
Location: Memphis, TN

Postby kthulhu » Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:29 pm

May be macrovision copy protection. I think using an S-Video connection can bypass it, but I'm not sure.
I'm out...
User avatar
kthulhu
 
Joined: 30 May 2002
Location: At the pony stable, brushing the pretty ponies

Postby Mask of Destiny » Thu Sep 26, 2002 10:44 pm

Well you coud try to track down a macrovision stripper, but they are a bit pricey and can be hard to find. You could also try finding a hack for your video capture card that disables macrovision.

I don't think the S-Video method will have any effect, but I'm not sure either. It would be a rather pointless technology if it was that easy to crack.
Mask of Destiny
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2002

Postby The Wired Knight » Fri Sep 27, 2002 1:38 pm

HAHAHAHA!!!! Ok, I'm the guy to trust on this, I've delt with this more times than anybody else and it stopped me from making videos, yes it is macrovision on the tape that is stopping you from recording. Go purchase a Sima Video Copymaster or a Sima collor Corecter. I found mine at Best Buy near the DVD players. It will cost you about $40 to $50 and all you do is rerout your video cables through it and it will eliminate teh copyright and macorvision encoding.

Just trust me, buy this, it will remove your problems completely.
BANG

Intellectual Property, Real Estate & Probate Attorney.
User avatar
The Wired Knight
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Location: Right next door to you
Status: Attorney At Law

Postby The Wired Knight » Fri Sep 27, 2002 1:39 pm

Since I can't edit. Don't bother with teh S-Video method, I tried that it doesn't work. Nor does rerouting the cables through multiple systems. Just by the Sima Copymaster, it's cheap and it does the job, guarenteed. I'm working on a Trigun AMV right now and these DVDs are copyright encoded but the copymaster solves the problem.
BANG

Intellectual Property, Real Estate & Probate Attorney.
User avatar
The Wired Knight
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Location: Right next door to you
Status: Attorney At Law

Postby y2kwizard » Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:59 pm

Thanks a lot! This'll really help me!
"When I got fat, I decided to grow a beard" -- The Great Andy
"Is it a DARTH visor?" and "It's funny cuz it's pants" -- The Master of on-the-spot Funniness
"You're too young for your age" and "I'm sorry for apologizing so much" -- The Master of on-the-spot Randomness
User avatar
y2kwizard
 
Joined: 18 Aug 2002
Location: Memphis, TN


Return to Video & Audio Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest