Problems with my captured footage.

thecrimsoncurse
Org Profile

Problems with my captured footage.

Post by thecrimsoncurse » Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:20 pm

I just spent the last two days capturing footage from the game "Xenosaga". I used Dazzle External Hardware.

the files are all 720x480 at 29.97 fps and the file extension is .mpg

I'm a total noob when it comes to video editing and compression.
The files will load into premier but they are kinda choppy and are taking a long time to load( in Premier or any program i try to use to view the files.)

It may be that they are uncompressed. for example a 5 minute clip is close to 250 mb.

I can't open the files with TMPGEnc or virtualdub and I'm not sure where to proceed from here. The clips are useless in Premier since they are choppy and with the load time it would take ages to finish my video.

Any suggestions or guidance would be much appreciated.

and sorry if this has been asked before, but I'm kind of in a panic.

madmallard
Org Profile

Post by madmallard » Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:32 pm

mpge is compressed.

the file size is about right for the resolution/fps ou have set. it would be MUCH larger if it was uncompressed.

Compressed video files aren't good to edit with becasue the computer has to de-compress them. The computer has to stop, decode it, then play it out a preview window.

mpeg is an even messier compression because it isn't compressed one frame at a time. its compressed in groups of frames, which means the computer has to find the keyframe, then decompress it.

don't be too concerned with how it looks in a preview window, only care how it looks when you use the Dazzle to spit it back out. If that looks fine, then dont worry about anything.

as far as the other stuff, you normally can't open MPEG2 in Virtual dub, but why can't you open it in TMPG?

thecrimsoncurse
Org Profile

Post by thecrimsoncurse » Sat Mar 29, 2003 5:39 pm