Can't encode using ZarxGUI

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.

Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby AimoAio » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:29 am

Zarx Version 2.0

It'll encode and give me a file that's reasonably sized but I can't open the file in any media players at all. In MPC it says "Cannot render the file" which is strange because I've never had a problem with encoding using this version of Zarx. This is what it says when I import the lossless file (lagarith) and start the encoding:

Starting...
avs [info]: trying AVISource... succeeded
avs [info]: trying AVISource for audio ... succeeded
avs [info]: 1280x720p 0:0 @ 2997/125 fps (cfr)
avs [info]: color matrix: undef
audio [info]: opened qtaac encoder (AAC-LC VBR: 63, quality: medium, samplerate: 48000hz)
resize [warning]: converting from bgra to yuv420p
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 FastShuffle SSE4.2

--

I haven't touched any of the other settings in Zarx except the quantizer and the preset since I was doing test encodes. The only thing I can think of is perhaps it's something to do with Quicktime since I updated that last week along with iTunes. :\ Any ideas?
Image
User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby mirkosp » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:50 am

Well, iTunes could be a problem, but I'm too sure right now.
For starters, if it really is just the audio to give problems, then the video on its own should work. Try to remux the video stream only in mkv with mkvmerge gui. If the output mkv runs in the player, the issue is likely with the audio indeed (or possibly with the container ─ that's easily checked if remuxing both audio and video instead of just video still works), and you should perhaps try to revert to a previous version of quicktime.
If that doesn't work, then the issue probably lies in the video itself. If you can put the file somewhere, it might help to see if we can sort out what's wrong.

Sidenote: recently there have been bugfixes and changes in L-SMASH (the mp4 muxer the x264 builds zarxgui uses are based on), so perhaps those would fix problems with newer encodes by quicktime and that might be why it would fail. Updating the x264 build would be a better solution if that turns out to be the case.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby AimoAio » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:34 am

I get this error when I try to add it in mkvmerge:

Image

The video file that won't open: http://www.mediafire.com/?vq60hhhjfwfibgh
Image
User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby mirkosp » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:27 pm

Yeah, something went very wrong with the encode. I don't believe it actually finished encoding at all. Can you upload me the lossless somewhere or is it too big?
Also, tried using another lossless format for the sake of it?
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby AimoAio » Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:22 pm

Yeah I tried UTVideo, still the same problem.

And here's the lossless: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/58417114/Lossl ... k%2014.avi
Image
User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby mirkosp » Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:51 pm

Alright, figured what the problem is. It is the audio, but in input, not output. It's failing to load it.
lavc [error]: could not open resampler
mp4 [error]: error opening audio encoder.
mp4 [error]: unable to init audio output.

Seems x264-audio does not support that audio format (signed PCM gives it issues? I think I had only dealt with unsigned PCM so far). Setting --acodec none lets the encode run fine in many ways (honestly I'd want to see this encoded in 4:4:4 due to all the chroma detail, it would be a shame to lose it! :( ).
Either way, I demuxed it as a wav and encoded it as aac with qaac on its own, and just let x264-audio mux that. It's also possible to mux audio and video together with L-SMASH or yamb afterwords if you prefer.
Alternatively, change the export settings for the audio so it is unsigned PCM and it should work normally.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Qyot27 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:02 pm

Even though it's been narrowed down to the audio import side, updating Quicktime wouldn't have been a cause of the problem. Just to clear that part up.

However, MPC (you didn't mention whether this is the original one or MPC-Homecinema) can sometimes get screwed up when Quicktime updates*. It doesn't require you to downgrade Quicktime, though - just go into MPC's formats page and change the control of anything that says 'Quicktime' to 'DirectShow'. This can also happen if you have *both* the old MPC and MPC-HC and switch between them without telling them to store their settings in .ini files.

mirkosp wrote:Sidenote: recently there have been bugfixes and changes in L-SMASH (the mp4 muxer the x264 builds zarxgui uses are based on), so perhaps those would fix problems with newer encodes by quicktime and that might be why it would fail. Updating the x264 build would be a better solution if that turns out to be the case.

x264_L-SMASH uses an internal copy of L-SMASH, so even if the muxer itself updates, it's not guaranteed to filter down into x264_L-SMASH right away. The last time the two got synchronized was a month ago. It's not impossible to just hand-update those pieces (I've had to do it a few times), but I consider that a last resort in the event that there's been a prolonged lack of commits. Of course, it'd be worlds simpler if x264_L-SMASH just used liblsmash instead of an internal copy, but whatever.

*It's one of Quicktime's really annoying things on Windows - you can tell it during install not to steal your associations, but it'll do it anyway.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby mirkosp » Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:10 pm

Actually, JEEB's x264_L-SMASH got synced just last month: https://github.com/jeeb/x264_L-SMASH/commits/lsmash
EDIT: I swear I read "it was months ago" instead of "a month ago" in your post. Whoops.
I realized because I was using an older version of the L-SMASH standalone, and wasn't able to remux an mp4 output by the latest build he did. Building a newer L-SMASH standalone solved the problem (well, I did have to ask JEEB in order to sort it out, tho... I blame my ineptitude).
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Qyot27 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:25 pm

Just for the sake of pointing it out, check the Network page. Not that my branch has any of the other patches on it save for the one making the build log less verbose.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby AimoAio » Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:57 pm

mirkosp wrote:Alright, figured what the problem is. It is the audio, but in input, not output. It's failing to load it.
lavc [error]: could not open resampler
mp4 [error]: error opening audio encoder.
mp4 [error]: unable to init audio output.

Seems x264-audio does not support that audio format (signed PCM gives it issues? I think I had only dealt with unsigned PCM so far). Setting --acodec none lets the encode run fine in many ways (honestly I'd want to see this encoded in 4:4:4 due to all the chroma detail, it would be a shame to lose it! :( ).
Either way, I demuxed it as a wav and encoded it as aac with qaac on its own, and just let x264-audio mux that. It's also possible to mux audio and video together with L-SMASH or yamb afterwords if you prefer.
Alternatively, change the export settings for the audio so it is unsigned PCM and it should work normally.

Uh..you mean changing it in the editing program's export settings? Or somewhere else...? Cause I can't seem to find an option for signed/unsigned. :uhoh:

Image

Sorry, I'm not really good with this kinda stuff so I'm a little lost with what you meant by demuxing and the other stuff. :sweat:
Image
User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Qyot27 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:07 pm

Well, using the x264.exe provided by Zarx264gui 2.0 and the lossless file posted on dropbox, I can't replicate this. It encodes the video and audio, and the output file is fine. I also tested with my own build and it doesn't have problems with it either. I tried using --demuxer avs like Zarx sets up, I tried just letting the internal FFMS2 handle it, no input problems at all.

What decoder is being used for PCM? Windows' native one, ffdshow, LAV Filters, etc.? Then again, I'm using XP. Maybe there's some issue that's underlying this on newer versions of Windows.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Kain-x-spirits » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:16 am

Same problem as aimo since i've re-installed my codecs (with itunes and new quicktime too).
It shows a ffms error on zarxgui ("couldn't create the video source"). But it works when i chose mkv as container.
And it seems like my directshowsource doesn't work either on avisynth script (i dunno if it's related to the problem).

Everything worked fine before the new install tho
User avatar
Kain-x-spirits
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2007
Location: Lyon, France
Status: Hahahaha~

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Kain-x-spirits » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:19 am

Ha yeah, and it only occurs when i try to encode a lagarith, huffyuv or UTvideo. Uncompressed files works fine. <_<
User avatar
Kain-x-spirits
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2007
Location: Lyon, France
Status: Hahahaha~

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Qyot27 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:55 am

Well, it definitely shouldn't be interfering with FFMS2 (by that I mean the internal one in x264, not the AviSynth or VapourSynth plugin). And the reason I keep saying this is that the only part of Quicktime that's relevant to these builds of x264 is the audio encoding functionality - and that relies on the exact same SDK as qtaacenc and qaac, so if they work, I can't really see how it would make x264 stop working, since it doesn't rely on anything else that Quicktime should be touching (problems like what I guess below notwithstanding; but that would only affect AviSynth input, not x264's internal copies of LAVF or FFMS2). And the SDK has remained the same for the past few years - if something stops working with it, it'd actually be Quicktime, but it wouldn't impact anything else.

I'm starting to think that what Quicktime/iTunes might have done is somehow mess with Media Foundation, and that's impacting being able to use DirectShow and VFW codecs - the solution to which is probably to either reinstall said DS and VFW codecs, or to use the Filter Priority thing that I know Vista/Win7 users needed at one time. It would also seem to explain why it doesn't seem to be doing anything here (even granted that I'm still on iTunes 10.5 - but I am using Quicktime 7.7.2, which is the latest version of Quicktime)...XP doesn't have Media Foundation.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs

Re: Can't encode using ZarxGUI

Postby Qyot27 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:24 am

Okay, an idea.

Copy and paste the following into Notepad and save the file with a .bat extension:
Code: Select all
x264 --preset veryslow --tune animation --crf 18 -o "%~n1.mp4" %1
pause

If you want a quick-and-dirty test, just change the preset from 'veryslow' to 'ultrafast'.


Now put the .bat file and the file you're trying to convert in the same folder as x264 (you could also just add x264's folder to the system PATH or copy x264.exe to C:\Windows and then run the .bat from wherever the original video file is, but I'm trying not to get complicated here). Drag and drop the .avi onto the .bat. The Command Prompt will pop up and x264 will encode the video. When it's finished, right click on the Command Prompt's title bar, choose Select All from the Edit menu, and when everything's selected, press Enter. Paste this log info into your reply so we can see what it's doing.

Also, I'd recommend trying to play the output file with mplayer. Download the latest one from here (the ones marked i686 are 32-bit, the x86_64 ones are 64-bit):
http://mplayer2.srsfckn.biz/

Just drag and drop the output video file onto mplayer2.exe and see if it plays.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs

Next

Return to Video & Audio Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Scintilla and 1 guest