Zarx problem

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.

Zarx problem

Postby Lord Rae » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:21 am

So I'm trying to encode a video but it's been a year since I last attempted an encode. Probably another year or two before that since I was last successful. I've got a fresh install of win7 32 bit and a fresh install of cs3 (Cs5 said my computer didn't meet the specs and Cs4 wouldn't install) and I got my video edited with a minimum of issues.

I went to export but it won't give me a option for any of the lossless codecs I installed so I exported the file in uncompressed avi. I opened Zarx no problem but when I attempt to load the video (As the old amv guide suggests) it won't work with any of the 3 options.

Any suggestions? I know I'm surely doing something wrong as I was never the most technically savvy editor and its only gotten worse with time. But I'm trying to claw my way back and just hit this snag.
User avatar
Lord Rae
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx problem

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri Aug 31, 2012 7:41 am

Start by using a more up to date version of zarxgui. The 3 options menu was done away with quite a while ago.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Zarx problem

Postby Lord Rae » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:26 am

Damn... thank you. I don't know why I didn't think to check that.
User avatar
Lord Rae
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx problem

Postby Lord Rae » Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:43 pm

Ok So I can encode but I need to fine tune my file and was attempting to use avspmod (and can't find a newer version) but I keep getting the error AVISource: Couldn't locate a decompressor for fourcc V210.

But my file is uncompress... It gives me a similar error if I try direct show. Suggestions?
User avatar
Lord Rae
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx problem

Postby mirkosp » Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Try ffvideosource.
Usual stuff, unzip the ddl, avsi, and exe directly into avisynth's plugins folder.
Then:
Code: Select all
ffvideosource("c:\path\file.avi")

Also works for mkv/mp4/mov/prolly other extensions and formats you'd throw at it.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Zarx problem

Postby Lord Rae » Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:52 pm

hmm.. well when I load that I get a long pause and the the program stops responding. Gonna play with it but if you have any other suggestions I would really appreciate it.
User avatar
Lord Rae
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx problem

Postby Cannonaire » Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:51 pm

The long pause happens because FFVideoSource() needs to index the file. Depending on how large the video is and how fast your computer is, it can take a few minutes only the first time. This is completely normal.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD

Re: Zarx problem

Postby mirkosp » Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:33 am

For big files (which is likely a case with uncompressed), it helps to do a separate index first. Drag and drop the .avi over the .exe file that came along the avsi and dll, a prompt will appear. When it closes, the file is indexed and you should be able to instantly load the avs.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Zarx problem

Postby Lord Rae » Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:17 am

Wow that is handy. Thanks!

I'm at work for 12 hours but I'll try that first thing when I get home.
User avatar
Lord Rae
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx problem

Postby JudgeHolden » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:54 am

Just an FYI ... I had to use

ffms2_FFVideoSource("c:\path\file.avi")

to get FFvideosource to work. :bear:
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
JudgeHolden
 
Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Location: The great white north (Minneapolis)
Status: Looking at you through your window!


Return to Video & Audio Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests